Lewis Center, Ohio – On Monday, April 15, 2024, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) recognized Ohio’s top students statewide during the annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Program. Nominated by one of the 51 Ohio educational service centers (ESCs), eligible applicants are high school seniors that demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and community  service as indicated by high school grades, test scores, school and community activities, and awards.

“In order to achieve this level of success, these students have demonstrated a commitment to excellence, resilience and grit,” stated OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford. For nearly four decades, OESCA has recognized nearly over 2,600 scholars and student leaders during this event. “Ohio’s ESCs have over a century of service in providing technical assistance and support to Ohio’s schools and students, and during this event we get to see the impact of that work,” added Burford. “We look forward to our continued partnership with students and families, school district leadership, and state policymakers to ensure students have equal access to high quality educational opportunities and experiences regardless of where they live and attend school.”

The award program, named in honor of Ohio’s thirty first State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Franklin B. Walter, was established by OESCA in 1989 to promote and recognize outstanding student leaders for their academic achievement and service to their schools and communities. One senior from each county in Ohio is eligible to receive this annual honor.

Congratulations: Kenneth Robertson of Monroe Central HS and Haylee Berentz of Frontier High School

Link to full program